Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that volunteering has to be an essential course provided by the school. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement, as I believe that school play a crucial role in preparing individuals to be good members of their societies, especially among teenagers and the youngest. First of all, it is widely recognized that joining to volunteering camping can boost the sense of responsibility towards society. In other words, unpaid community service can give the students a chance to understand the importance of community contribution. This is because volunteer work develops the spirit of giving. For example, according to a recent study by Sultan Qaboos University, approximately 45% of students who participated in cleaning charities or governmental buildings had the highest level of sense of responsibility. Furthermore, it is clear that volunteer work can improve social skills. A key reason for this is giving the chance to develop leadership skills, communication, teamwork and a sense of community. For instance, if a person would like to teach, they have to enhance their ability to communicate with others, as it is important to their future. In addition, according to statistics, almost 1000 hours of volunteer work can lead to mastery in developing a personality. In conclusion, I believe that unpaid community service, as it is known as volunteer work has to take a serious part in schooling programmers because of its positive impact on both individuals and societies. I fully encourage consider volunteering as a compulsory course in schools, especially among secondary schools.