The recent popularity of online shopping will result in the end of high street shops. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There is no denying that online shopping is becoming popular in today’s era. Many people claim that the high street shops will get vanished with the ongoing trend of e-commerce, while others refute the notion. I completely agree with the statement that online shopping will gaining popularity as compared to the high street shops, which will be discussed further in this essay. To commence with, online shopping offers flexibility and saves travel time, as anything could be purchased by sitting comfortably in any corner of the house without even bothering about getting ready, and taking out spare time from busy schedule to go out for shopping. Additionally, ample choices are available to individuals interested in purchasing things online. To exemplify, if someone wants to buy any skin care product that is only available in another country, fortunately, it is possible to order it online; however, street shops cannot carry all the products from different nations so choice is limited there. On the contrary, some people believe that required items become instantly available to the customers while doing street shopping, whereas there are longer wait times until the delivery day in online shopping. However, an option of becoming a prime member could eradicate this issue; therefore the product would be delivered within a day. Moreover, a question arises about the originality of some items such as actual size and appearance, though it could be cleared by checking customer reviews online as well as using a virtual size guide. To illustrate, a survey conducted in Punjab in 2024, revealed that 75% of people were satisfied with online platforms such as Amazon which provide a virtual size guide to the purchaser where one is asked to put one’s feet under the camera to check for the exact measurement. To encapsulate, the trend of e-commerce is already competing with high- street shops by offering flexibility to consumers. Even though the prime membership and virtual size guides are playing an indispensable role in satisfying buyers to a large extent, thus online shopping is becoming a preference.