Some children spend hours every day on their smartphone Why is this the case? Do you think this is positive or negative development?

After the invention of hand held devices (smartphones) more and more individuals started buying and using them, as these electronic devices were able to perform many different tasks. This trend continued and the number of people owning a smartphone increased to the point that even recently children can not let go of this legendary or rather addictive invention. In this essay, I am going to mention why I believe that this is more of a destructive trend, despite all the advantages technology brought to us. To begin with, children mostly use phones for entertainment purposes such as playing games, watching videos and texting friends. While these activities might not seem to have that much of a negative impact on the children, they actually could be quite dangerous if kids overuse them and spend more time on them than they should. For example, having physical activities, studying and spending time with family are all crucial for a kid to have a healthy mental and physical life. Furthermore, disrupting any of these aspects can result in health issues like kids becoming depressed or obese. Moreover, to prevent any potential risks parents are responsible for lessening the time their children spend behind the phone by monitoring them, as cutting their access to these devices is difficult, it is the best solution. This way, parents will make sure that their kids have enough time to take part in all necessary aspects of life. In fact, there are apps available for this exact same matter, which work by blocking access to the phone after a certain time or simply sending notifications to parents ' phones about the period spent. To conclude, while technology itself is very beneficial, when it comes to under-aged individuals, matters become more sensitive as they become addicted to them much easier, which can affect their health. In addition, parents should be aware of the risks involved and step forward to limit the hours that a child uses a smartphone.