It was predicted that people living in the twenty-first century would have more free time than ever before because of improvements in technology. To what extent has this prediction come true?

There is an speculation that people nowadays tend to have more time due to the advancement of technology. Personally, I believe that this statement is not fully accurate, as an industrialised society requires more time for work and the technology itself also become a part of daily routines that claim our time. After the Industrial Revolution, people's lifestyles and daily routines were greatly affected, with more efficient workflow, the daily workload has been greatly increasing throughout the years. A single employee is expected to produce more work than in the old production system. For example, public organisations in Thailand adopt indicator systems, such as KPIs, to monitor the productivity of each department. They also keep increasing annual performance targets every year. In other words, people are now pushed to be more productive with less relaxing time. Moreover, various essential activities are now bound to modern devices, especially mobile phones. The mobile phone, along with an internet connection, is a replacement for many machines, including cameras, television, newspapers, and even books. So, several hobbies now require the usage of the device, which is inevitable to encounter serious matters during our free time. Hence, it shapes our lifestyle to have less quality time for self-care and self-recovery from busy issues. In conclusion, new technology does not provide us with more free time compared to the ancient and medieval times, instead, people now have more daily activities to do because of the better efficiency of tools. Meanwhile, mobiles and the internet have become the main communication methods, hence individuals waste their free time socialising through this equipment. Therefore, it can be said that technology is not making us have more freedom from responsibilities.