Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is an undeniable fact that global warming is becoming worse and worse, causing negative effects on traffic and pollution problems. There are those who argue that the most effective approach to address the previously mentioned issues is to increase the price of gasoline. In my view, this may have a few benefits. However, personally, I partly oppose the notion of altering the price of gasoline, and I firmly hold the belief that there exist alternative and efficient approaches to address the issues at hand. On the one hand, increasing the price of petroleum could potentially play a crucial role in addressing traffic pollution. Higher fuel costs would serve as an incentive for a significant number of individuals to choose public transportation or walking. For instance, when petrol prices are steep, many people would choose to commute using public transport regularly, leading to a decrease in the emission of harmful gases. Currently, many people drive electric cars, which is environmentally friendly. On the contrary, the economy is remarkably impacted by increasing the price of petrol. This brings about serious consequences. It has an immediate effect on the supply and demand chain of export countries. A number of people are affected in terms of finance and income. For example, during the last few years, many fights and embargoes have been promulgated by Russia which supplies oil and gas. This increases the cost of petrol highly. The heightened oil price increases the other product price, leading to inflation in amount of countries. In conclusion, increasing the price of petrol has a lot of positive effects on traffic and pollution problems. However, its negative effects on the country's economy are undeniable. I suggest the government should introduce principles about environmental protection for the population and set rules and penalties for those who damage the environment.