By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilt of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s society, people’s thinkings on the penalty for murder have significantly diverged. The issue of imprison murderers for life rather than impose the death penalty has become a matter of considerable debate. From my perpective, life imprisonment is more suitable than the death penalty. Below, I will give some of my reason to support my position. First and foremost, the death penalty it is against morality. The death penalty is prohibited in humane and democratic states. For instance, the death penalty was abolished in Azerbaijan in 1998. Instead, life imprisonment is applied for some crimes in criminal law. On the other hand, the death penalty itself means repeating the act of murder. This does not correspond to the essence of punishment. For example, the purpose of a sermon is not revenge, but personal reform, the prevention of new crimes, and reintegration into society. Moreover, life imprisonment allows for the possibility of rehabilitation and redemption. By providing inmates with opportunities for rehabilitation, society can promote a more humane approach to justice. By contrast, the death penalty is irreversible. There is no doubt that may be cases in the world where many innocent people are punished. For example, previously used death sentences such as the electric chair, hanging in a tight cell, etc. innocent people were victims of inhumane punishment. Therefore, the risk of innocent people being killed in the event of improper investigation and inaccurate investigation becomes inevitable. In conclusion, the moral implications of the death penalty and the risk of irreversible mistakes, strongly support the argument for life imprisonment as a preferable punishment for murderers. This approach not only aligns with ethical standards but also create a more merciful society.