Nowadays, many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies, individuals or government? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

An increase has been noticed in the number of medical research projects funded by private companies. Some people claim that it is a positive development, while others disagree. From my perspective, I believe that who funds the research has much less significance than whether the research is open-source. To begin with, there are numerous benefits when research is open-source. One of the most important ones is that everyone benefits from the outcomes of the research. For example, when a private medical firm funds a research and does not public the results, only this company benefits. In contrast, funding a project and publishing the outcomes, not only benefits the company itself, but also everyone who has access to the results. It is unreasonable to consider the rise in the number of medical research projects funded by private companies a negative development. Technology has allowed lots of medical companies to skyrocket their revenues. Moreover, it is undeniable that some firms have higher budgets than even whole countries. Therefore, society should be thankful for the enormous amounts of money private companies are spent on open medical research. All in all, there has been a growth in the number of medical research projects funded by companies in the private sector recently. For some people this is considered as a negative development. I firmly believe that there is none possible drawback of medical research being carried out by private companies. However, I would like to point out the significant benefits of open-source research.