More and more people are working from home instead of going to an office. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Working from home has recently become more popular than working at an office as it enhances productivity for jobs that mostly focusing on individual tasks. However, it is more difficult to work as a team. It is obvious that highly focused jobs require more attention and these can be done effectively by working from home. Due to less distraction, working from home allows workers to pay attention solely to their tasks. Moreover, people working from their own spaces have more flexibility on time management which they can spend their time on other aspects such as taking care of their health and building stronger relationships. This results in higher work quality and productivity, leading directly to company profits. On the other hand, team collaboration can be done much harder. While communication through messaging applications or video conference platforms helps facilitate team members to work together, there are some obstacles to communicate seamlessly such as the low quality of the internet, delaying getting instant answers. Without talking face-to-face also makes it harder to build strong relationships among colleagues because they have no chance to talk personally and this probably results in work quality. For instance, managers who are not close to their team members and have only little chance to connect with their team can struggle to give direct feedback which eventually causes no improvement. In conclusion, working from home has several benefits, especially for highly focused jobs that can gain higher attention and workers can manage their time properly, it remains some drawbacks. Without working at an office can lead to a lack of good communication and team collaboration and relations are affected negatively.