Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In many countries, the most popular leisure activity is shopping, especially for young adults because of the advancement in technology. However, this may result negatively in financial management. Advancements in technology have made shopping more convenient. Seamless digital payment systems such as e-wallets, contactless payments, buy-now-pay-later systems, and credit cards make transactions effortless and allow young adults to purchase products easier. Furthermore, many platforms and shops have integrated A.I. as shopping assistance to suggest products, making products easier to find and more tempting to buy. For example, Amazon and online shopping platforms now have its own AI-driven recommendation system together with various payment methods, enhancing buying experiences. However, spending too much money on shopping can lead to problems in financial management. Although product recommendation systems and seamless payment methods improve shopping experiences, young adults, who unaware of their financial situations, probably overspend unnecessarily. This eventually causes financial struggles and makes young adults unable to buy what they really need or cannot afford essential stuffs. For instance, if buyers apply to the buy-now-pay-later program and cannot afford to pay, they have to pay more at the end because of the interest. It is obvious that the situation is worse than having enough money and paying instantly. In conclusion, shopping has become the most popular leisure activity because of technological advancements that allow buyers to buy products more conveniently. It, however, affects those with poor financial management to struggle with their finance.