Some people think that the increase in international travel has a negative impact on the environment and should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that the rise in number of people traveling abroad has a negative effect on the environmental aspect and should be regulated. I totally disagree with the statement due to economic benefits and positive impacts on global communication; and the problems caused by global traveling can be easily managed. There are several advantages provided by the increasing circulation of people traveling between countries and one of them is the improvement in economy. With the rising numbers of tourists from different countries, the local people are offered more job opportunities and are able to earn more money to support their family and themselves by selling souvenirs, traditional and local foods and providing transportation services. For example, people who reside near touristic destinations like Royal Palace of Cambodia and National museum have gained a fair amount of money from installing food stalls and taking tourists for a ride around the area in exchange for some amount of money. The government can also profit from the rise in tourism from selling entrance tickets to the captivating and ancient places. In instance, the government of Cambodia has been selling tickets to travelers who wish to visit the one and only Angkor Wat Temple and earned a huge amount of money to continue developing its infrastructures. Furthermore, the increase in tourism also facilitates the growth of international communication resulting in the rise in engagements between people from different nations. This helps reduce discrimination and racism. Despite having crucially advantageous impacts, international tourism also illustrates some concerning effects regarding environmental problems. The rising numbers of travelers between countries has shown that the quantity of airplanes used to transport passengers has substantially risen, leading to severe air pollution. Regionally, it is shown that trash accumulates where it is crowded, especially, the beaches where everyone only focuses on enjoying the view and the sound created by waves and forget to keep their garbage in trash bins. With more litter thrown on the grown, it is likely for them to gather in rivers making them polluted. However, these environmental issues can be kept under control if some crucial rules are applied. These rules consist of reducing the frequency of flying; and set finning protocol on those who throw trash on the ground. To sum up, it is clear that the drawbacks of international tourism are concerning. However, it shouldn’t be constricted as economic benefits and the increase in communication between nations negate the negative impacts which are manageable.