Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that residing in large cities could have detrimental impacts on human health. While the possibility of contracting particular illnesses is higher in big cities, I strongly believe that the availability of access to advanced medical services compensates for these drawbacks. The reasons for this are as follows. Admittedly, living in large cities could cause difficulty for residents’ well-being. The inevitability of the increasing population in big cities and the higher amount of fossil fuel consumption, consequently, play a crucial role in increasing toxic gas emissions such as carbon dioxide, making the weather polluted. The livers in these environments, therefore, would be predisposed to some respiratory diseases such as lung cancer or asthma, costing them their lives. According to the Iran Health Organization, 60% of sufferers from lung cancer in 2019, were living in Tehran, the largest as well as the most populated city in Iran. This suggests the possibility of getting infected with some fatal ailments as a result of living in big cities, where the air is usually polluted. On the other hand, big cities offer more advanced healthcare facilities. The concentration of almost all advanced medical services in large cities makes the process of recognizing and treating illnesses faster and more efficient; While these processes might be delayed for people in small cities due to a shortage of such equipment, resulting in losing the golden time for treatment. Furthermore, the availability of more interesting recreational facilities such as water parks in big cities boosts residents moods, directly improving mental health. Noticeably, having cleaner weather and lower, traffic, noise and water pollution, small cities ensure a peaceful life. Yet, the potential drawbacks could be outweighed by the presented facilities. In conclusion, although living in big cities can cause health problems, I believe that it should not be overestimated. As a result, the idea that this approach adversely influenced human health can not be supported. In addition, it is predicted that these facilities might persuade more people to immigrate to big cities.