For many, shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others. People, however, in the past mostly visited those when necessary. To what extent do you think this is a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Going to shop has always been a great past time since many years.In this modern era, certain believe that spending time in the malls with friends and enjoying their free time is one of the best ways to feel relaxed, while some argue that one should visit the shopping centres when the need be. In my opinion, this trend is gaining momentum and cannot be entirely considered disadvantageous. On the one hand, in today's fast paced society people are tied up with their busy schedules. Shopping and meeting our camarades at the same time can not only save time but also help the bond of friendship strengthen. Moreover, while shopping for clothes and household stuff, we have the convenience of taking our friend's choices. This will lead to quicker decisions and may prove more economical. For instance, recently when I went to Walmart to shop for my six year old nephew with my colleague, she suggested me to buy a track suit which was on sale. As she has her own child of the same age, I did not take a minute to rely on her opinion. This episode saved my money and valuable time. On the other hand, visiting a mall unnecessarily just to meet our loved ones could prove to be a costly affair. The marketing techniques of shops are so attractive that we spend exorbitantly on stuff we do not desire at that time. Recent research has revealed that teenagers these days generally gather at a coffee shop for chit chatting and then roam around the mall. Since they are at an immature age, they tend to spend money on things that are not required but just to please their peers. This unwanted expenditure puts a big hole in their parents pockets who might be struggling to survive. In conclusion, malls will continue to be a meeting place for fun and frolic but making a purchase should be wisely done. I personally feel that this trend is not negative if we are mindful of our expenses.