People nowadays are buying wider range of household things (for example television, rice cooker) than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? #people #range #household #television #rice #cooker #development

These days individuals are buying a wider range of household items than in the past. This is largely a negative development, and my reasons will be explained below. In the past decade variety in every aspect of shopping has increased and household items are not an exception. Frirstly, due to the advancements in technology, there are more brands and the number of items manufactured have also inclined. For example, earlier there were a only a few TV brands like Sony and Samsung but now the market is flooded with different TV brands. Consumers are attracted by this, so even if they already have a television at their home they will buy another one. People do not realise that this is wastage of money. People nowadays do not understand the difference between what is necessary and what is a luxury. In addition to this, individuals are focused on status symbols. One considers himself inferior to others if they do not have the latest fridge in his home. For instance, one gets influenced by others and buys the same expensive sofa but he does not really need it. He wants to show off in the society. Moreover, these items come with a lot of packging and people do not garbage it correctly. People fail to understand that we are depleting our natural resources. More the consumption more will be the litter. To conclude, consumption of household products has jumped in the past years and this has impacted our society negatively as it is wastage of money and it is causing harm to environment.