Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained in popularity (those teaching programs that involve the use of written materials, videos, televised lessons and the Internet), but some people argue that courses can never be taken as good as those by attending a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Distance learning programs have gained popularity and many people prefer it. While, some individuals claim that attending in person classes is more beneficial. I agree with the latter view and my reasons will be explained below. There are many reasons why attending in person is more useful. Firstly, a student will be more concentrated if a teacher is teaching them. Teachers can make even a boring subject interesting. There are less chances of getting distracted. Moreover there are many subjects which can only be taught in person. For example, experiments of physics and chemistry are to be done in a lab with the help of step-by-step instructions given by the teacher. It is impossible to do this in the virtual classes. Secondly, students can clear their doubts right away. In a class full of children everyone will ask questions and this way everyone will be curious and listen to it attentively. A person will get more clarity on difficult topics and it is easy to comprehend if a professor is explaining rather than a computer. On the other hand, many individuals feel that online learning options have opened doors for many children. One can sit in any corner of the world and still get education. Furthermore, there are many students who are physically disabled so it is easier for them to opt for distance learning options. To conclude, although there are many benefits of learning online, yet I believe that face-to face classes are more advantageous for students to learn effectively.