Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people believe that the authorities are spending a lot of money on the arts and that this budget might be invested more effectively in other fields. In this essay, however, I will challenge this school of thought. One could argue that the arts do not create as much money as another field as the economy. Nevertheless, this line of reasoning is not sound because the arts indirectly have plenty of economic value. For example, performances, such as the Eras tour in Singapore, not only were one of the parts that helped Taylor Swift become a billionaire but also supported Singapore in attracting a lot of people from many nations, especially Asians, who are Taylor Swift’s fans. When they went to Singapore, they spent on seeing shows, travelling and shopping. Thanks to tourist expenditure, tourism was encouraged to develop. Investing in Erras Tour was a way that Singapore's government developed its economy. In addition, artists who were trained and won in the international competition might receive prize money. To add further credence to my assertion, I note the mental values of the arts. Art is a means that helps people reduce stress. When facing pressure, many people go to museums, theatres or cinemas to find a peaceful sense. In another field, ancient structures help local people understand their country's history and recall patriotism which is a foundation to which they contribute to their hometown. Developing art also creates a good view of the international travellers and up-grades national positions in the world. In conclusion, this is a mistake to assume that investing in the arts is an unproductive decision because it could enrich tourism, promote the economy and create mental value.