While Some people argue that public grants should be spent on constructing new fast-line railways for trains between cities, others believe funding for the improvement of existing public transport. I believe the former view would benefit the citizens to a larger extent.

On the one side, elderly population assume keeping the older transportation system provides simple services. Familiar vehicles and devices brings them a sentimental feeling, additionally they do not want to struggle with learning new things. For instance, a study in Niece suggests that as France is older-populated, 90% people are willing to maintain and fix current bus services hence keep funds to enhance hospitals. On the flip side, others including me believe technological vehicles have almost a set age to work so newer lines must be launched. Moreover, with the rise of technology, some options for buying tickets online, checking the departure and arrival time, convenience and security with the cameras around the stations make the fast-train lines a more user-friendly and popular choice. A survey conducted online showed that 90% of the population in Europe agreed on funding newer railway lines and everyone was eager and inclined to pay higher prices for tickets in addition to higher tax revenues in order to launch the mentioned lines earlier. In conclusion, the support of the elderly population to spend a large amount of money on current public transportation is understandable because of their over-reliance on sentimental values. However, the majority in the society including me believe that new fast-line railways must be funded to provide new and higher quality trains between cities because the cost of the maintenance and accident risks outweighs the benefits of running current ones.