Some people believe that using a bicycle as a main form of transportation has a lot of advantages whereas others think it has many disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past years, bicycles have gained growing popularity as a primary means of vehicles. In my opinion, this trend offers more drawbacks than its benefits. While increasing cyclers can help protect the environment, they might find it difficult to commute to work and cause traffic problems. On the one hand, a prime disadvantage is that cycling is not quick and comfortable enough. Without engines or machines, bikes require humans to drive and balance by their own strengths. It is inevitable that people cannot speed up like when they drive motorbikes or cars, so they might not get to their destinations in time. If employees still manage to avoid late attendance, they will feel tired and underperform in office. This results from resilient efforts in a long distance which is only suitable for those who do intense exercises in gyms or already get used to cycling. On the other hand, many people still argue that using only bikes can help preserve the Earth. This mode of transportation works without fossil fuels which can be converted to gasoline to run other vehicles and emit carbon dioxide to the air. For instance, Holland motivates varied citizens to shift to cycling on streets and get praises around the world for a reduced level of carbon footprint and air pollution. However, this also means that only private transports remain on roads instead of buses and other public transports. Hence, the urban infrastructure cannot manage to host that large number of individuals and might even lead to traffic congestion. In conculsion, the disadvantages of only cycling outweigh its advantages. Irrespective of helping lessen contamination, bikes might cause challenges to traffic participants and deny the importance of public transports.