Q. Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that parents are responsible for teaching children how to be good citizens, while others believe that children should learn it from school. In my opinion, families and schools are both shaping children's behaviour. I believe parents are children's first educators. Before going to a formal education, toddlers, for instance, tend to mimic their parents such as how they talk and how they behave in general. They are able to adopt values like gratitude and empathy through daily observations. On the other hand, any reprehensible acts can also influence them. Therefore, parents quickly become role models for kids, making mothers or fathers significant figures that shape people's identities. Formal education, in addition to family, plays a massive role in the development of students' personality through exposure to a more diverse environment. In school, students can learn about respect and compromise. For example, from discussions in class, one can learn about collaborating with others, and also about embracing differences in people's ideas. Students are also getting taught about fulfilling responsibilities which they might dislike, but actually bringing greater good for themselves. In conclusion, parents and school have a major influence on children's traits. Home gives kids a foundation of their beliefs, while school gives them a more real-life experience as a development chamber to be a responsible citizen.