In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a significant number of people prefer to live alone. The interest of rising independence and personal freedom might be the driving forces for this development. However, I would argue that this shift in people's mindset can have negative impacts on our society. This essay will explore the downside of this development with a clear explanation. To begin with, one of the major drawbacks of living detached from others is the challenges of loneliness. Even though, individuals living by themselves can help to improve self-reliance, the isolation  can bring  significant damage to their mental health. According to many studies, a person who lives alone has to go through many hardships by themselves, without any emotional support. Whereas, an individual who lives with their parents, partner or friends will have an environment to share their troubles and feel less stressed. Therefore, by lack of social connections people's mental well-being can be negatively affected, resulting in burnout and depression. To add to the downsides, the surge of living in solitude trend also indicates the shift in social norms. A majority of people follow this trend to avoid complex relationships. For instance, the young generation's declined interest in community and relationships values are today's popular discussion around the world. Especially, the Gen-Z prefer to have fewer people interactions and bonds. To elaborate on this, the term ''situationship'' recently became popular among this generation. It means, having a relationship between two people without any commitment or dedication. All these are adverse effects of individuals being paranoid about emotional connections, because of this many choose to live alone. In conclusion, while there are many positive aspects to living by yourself, such as personal development and lower financial costs, however, the disadvantages of this trend cannot be overshadowed. The decline in social and personal relationships and the rise of mental health issues are some of the few damages stemming in the new generation lives due to the increased solitary lifestyle. Thus, it is high time to direct sensible and genuine interest towards this growing issue, in order to mitigate the harmful effects for a sustainable future.