Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing interest in national allocations for transportation systems. Many people argue that the government should allocate more funds to railways rather than roads. I strongly support this notion and I will delineate my reasons, supported with relevant examples. To begin, one compelling reason why I believe that the state should invest more money in railway construction than roads is because railways promote environmental sustainability. That is, railways are energy-efficient and they do not contribute to carbon emissions. By this, they are environment friendly. When a population imbibe the use of trains rather than road transport, there is reduced greenhouse gas emissions, countering the uprising threatening environmental issues of climate change. For example, in Japan, a high-speed train called Shinkansen is widely used as an energy-efficient alternative to cars and airplanes. This has successfully reduced the carbon footprint of transportation in the country. Furthermore, although building roads can be faster and less costly as compared to railways, I support the view of spending more funds on the construction and maintenance of railways as it will help solve the problem of traffic congestion, particularly in urban areas. To buttress this, the cities are becoming heavily populated, leading to a surge in traffic jams. It is gradually reaching a point of saturation and this has been attributed to the high influx of people into the urban region. Trains, however, can commute millions of people at once, reducing the need for road transport. This helps to curb the road challenge. For instance, a country with an efficient subway system like London, despite a recent influx of migrants has well-controlled traffic. This is because of adequate train availability, reducing the uncontrolled need for cars. In conclusion, with the rise in the debate about the best means of transport in society, most residents opine that the government ought to spend more on railways than roads. I support this as the use of railway is a determinant of environmental sustainability and will help reduce the issue of congestion.