Some people think that lawbreakers should be sent to prison. However, others think that better talents among those should be made to work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a long-lasting debate over the penalty of lawbreakers, and some insist that the criminals should be sent to prison, while others are convinced that they should contribute their time and physical strength working for redemption. On one hand, serving sentence in prison is a severe penalty and can curb illegal acts. First and foremost, incarceration is an effective way to prevent the criminals from committing more crimes, and thus being viewed as a necessary measure to secure a peaceful society. Based on related researches, 54% of the culprits committed the same crime in four years after serving their sentence, indicating the significance of imprisonment. Furthermore, being deprived of personal liberty and financial freedom, lawbreakers spend time reflecting on their misdeeds, which embodies the ultimate goal of legal enforcement, which is to correct moral deviation. On the other hand, for those engaging in criminal activities in specific domain or diagnosed with phycological illness, their background can be harnessed and create greater profit for the country. For example, fraudsters can assist in the investigations on related cases, contributing to crime prevention and detective process. Similarly, the wrongdoers with metal illness can be involved in scientific research, creating new insights in medical development. For instance, William Milligan helped in the study in schizophrenia before serving his death penalty. In conclusion, despite the possible profit generated by making talented criminals to work or engaged in related experiments, it is not worthy of running the risk of compromising public security and social stability. In my opinion, making them serve the proper sentence in jail is a preferable approach for a better society.