The internet is a great source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information reliable on the internet? What should be done to control information online?

With the help of the internet, which provides unlimited access to information, people can discover new knowledge from around the world. However, in my opinion, not all the information published or shared online can be trusted. To control the spread of misinformation, the government should take appropriate actions. One of the main reasons some information is unreliable is that anyone can post freely. In other words, people can write whatever they want based on their personal opinions. For example, some individuals who oppose vaccines often share false information about them on social media platforms such as TikTok and Instagram. As a result, the public may believe these misleading stories and develop negative attitudes toward vaccines. This contributes to the spread of misinformation. One way to regulate online information is for the government to enforce strict rules. That is to say, if someone posts false information online, they should face strict penalties to deter others from doing the same. For instance, in Malaysia, if someone spreads false information about the government, their account may be banned, and they may be fined heavily. Consequently, people are more cautious about sharing inaccurate information on social media. Another solution is for schools to educate students on how to identify reliable information. In other words, students should be taught not to believe everything they see or read online but to analyze sources and conduct research before accepting information as true. For example, when they come across news on social media, they should verify it using reliable sources such as CNN or BBC before sharing or believing it. This way, misinformation can be minimized. To conclude, I believe that not everything found online can be trusted. The government plays an important role in controlling misinformation by enforcing strict regulations and organizing awareness campaigns.