Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Even though some might believe that the goal of gaining a graduate level or above education is merely to secure employment, others argue that the actual purpose of higher education is to utilize its benefits for social and personal improvement. I agree with the latter point of view. On the one hand, degrees serve as a ladder of career progression for most individuals as they provide specialized knowledge and training in a specific industry. Although this might be true in specific companies, as inflation has soared internationally and unemployment has increased, most jobs have been filled by university graduates. For example, as my home country Pakistan continues to face economic issues most of my friends have taken up employment in areas not directly related to their degrees. On the other hand, the benefits of advanced study surpass the individualistic benefits that can be derived from them and should rather benefit everyone both socially and financially. Also, to highlight this, most graduates devote their time and efforts into activities that are beneficial for the public. Areas which are home to renowned institutions like Yale or Harvard have produced individuals who have given back to the community. To exemplify, Silicon Valley in America not only contains some world-class universities but also has leading hospitals, schools and research centres where prime facilities are provided to all. I believe these factors outweigh the job-centric approach of most people. In conclusion, although there is a strong belief that investing oneself in the study and expecting a financial return might be the correct approach for some, I believe that having a philanthropic mindset not only allows us to improve in a personal capacity but also motivates us to expand the horizons of our society.