In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this developement has more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Paying with smartphones instead of cash has become viral in recent years. I believe this has more advantages than disadvantages. Payment applications have so many unique features and have wide integration with many currencies all around the world, so users can change their money instantly without the need to go to exchange banks. Additionally, paying through online payment applications is safer for both the payee and the payer because they don't need to keep paper money with themselves, so the risk of robbery drops significantly. Paying applications let people have their money in their own currency and change it whenever they need to pay something instantly through the internet. While with cash, people need to use exchange banks in their travels abroad and most of the time have so many problems with them. For example, when people travel from Europe to Turkey, either they have to change their money in their own country as much as they need, or they need to exchange the money they need in Turkey with a higher exchange rate. Another problem with these exchange banks is that they have fixed working hours, and if people need money outside these hours, they have to wait until the next day. Keeping cash can be dangerous and triggers thieves to attack people and places and rob their money. With paying with smartphones and online payment applications, people are at less risk of robbery and can have access to their money wherever they need through the internet without risking their lives or money. For instance, according to a report published by The New York Times Magazine, crime rates related to stealing from people have significantly dropped since 2021, and the reason is using cell phones as people's primary payment method instead of paying with cash. In conclusion, paying through mobile applications is highly beneficial and has several advantages, such as increasing people's safety and preventing thieves from robbery, while also giving users many features and flexibility, like online exchange and instant wealth management.