Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Statistics have shown most American children are obsessed with technology. Therefore, they spend the majority of their spare time on mobile phones. Although it can be because most of them are the only child and have no one to spend time with, I suppose this is a negative development. Generally,the reason why this incident often happens in society nowadays, and also my own perspective about whether this occasion is a good change or a disturbing one will be discussed in this essay. Recently, the proportion of nuclear families outweighs the traditional families among the public. Hence, young individuals do not have anyone to play with. So, they tend to play video games and spend most of their free time on smart devices. For example, the Psychology Faculty of New York University published the result of research in 2022, that indicates 72 per cent of American children under 18 who are addicted to their cell phones are the only child. As a result, it is roughly their own choice to avoid loneliness when they do not have any company. The number of youths who are affected by serious diseases is increasing. In addition, spending a lot of time on social media among children aligns with being affected by hard diseases like cancer. So, in my opinion, the side effects of this improvement outweigh the profits. For instance, according to research published by the Sorbon University in 2023, 63 per cent of children in Europe, who spend at least 6 hours a day on their cell phones will be addicted to it after 10 years. Moreover, 24 per cent of addicted folks, are in danger of getting chronic illnesses in the future. To conclude, the more time children spend on technological devices, the more likely they will be affected by hard diseases. In conclusion, some young ones tend to spend many hours on mobile phones daily which is probably because the number of nuclear families is currently rising. By the way, I believe this incident had horrible effects on children ’s lives. In the end, I deeply hope the amount of time that children spend each day on their mobile phones be controlled by parents in the future.