Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of foods imported from countries all across the world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, there is a tendency for modern markets are sell more foods which are brought from abroad, ignoring local suppliers. Despite its advantages, i personally believe that there are several setbacks to such a trend such as the increasing value of some commodities and local producers' welfare. On the one hand, the value of several commodities which are found in the market is incredibly high. It is happening due to the increasing cost of distribution. Furthermore, imported goods have travelled long distances before touching the market, not to mention the tax requirements. For instance, coffee bean prices is rising significantly because it shipped from across the country. Thus, the shipment process are affecting the total value significantly. On the other hand, local farmers' well-being is also affected. It is happening as their product can not compete with goods that come from across the country. Moreover, local suppliers tend to avoid some standards that have been constituted by the supermarkets. In addition, the current circumstances are not supporting the local suppliers' products because of poor improvement of their production system. For example, coffee beans produced by rural farmers do not match the acidity criterion that modern markets require. Hence, such conditions do not bring any fortune for the natives. To sum up, the supermarkets' initiative to distribute imported meals has significantly influenced the price of it. Besides, native manufacturers are not getting any profits as their products do not match the standard of big distributors such as retail food stores and hypermarkets.