Sports programmes are hugely popular on television nowadays. But some people argue that these programmes are to blame for the poor health of many young people who prefer to watch rather than part take in physical activity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that watching sports programs will result in less sport activities and health issues. While watching tv for a long period of time can be an issue, I strongly disagree with this idea. Health organizations have been worried about young people watching their television for an excessive amount of time, due to the problems that come with it. Firstly, they argue that as a result of the excitement which sports have, it can lead to many observing games and matches on their electronic devices. For instance, the amount of citizens who watch football in Saudi Arabia reach to approximately 5 million individuals whereas people who play football extend to 1 million at most. Secondly, an issue healthcare workers face with sport fans in particular is that they tend to eat and drink unhealthy snacks without realizing the amount of calories they are consuming. Above all, doctors and nurses are troubled with the downsides that come with spending long hours in front of a TV, which is a habit that leads youth towards laziness and results in a sedentary lifestyle with no physical activity. On the other hand, watching these sport programmes can motivate young kids to indulge in physical activities. That is, a wide sum of people look up to professional athletes, aspiring to be pro's like them in a specific field of sports. In addition to this analysis, there have been many surveys showing the percentage of sports fans who have become more motivated to work out regularly is higher in comparison to those who arent motivated. One example is in South Korea, 60% of citizens tend to live a longer life owing to the fact that it is popular to take daily mile walks as well as going to the gym. To conclude this argument, I believe that in spite of sports programmes may contribute to a more sedentary lifestyle in some cases, it is more beneficial and educating for young folks to watch sports.