Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

With the increasing popularity of museums and art galleries, whether they should be free of charge or not has drawn much discussion amongst the general public. Personally, I am inclined to the view that the merits of charging for entry outweigh the drawbacks. One of the cogent reasons for charging fees is that the building and the maintenance costs of major museums and art galleries are tremendous. Undoubtedly, by charging a reasonable entry fee, it can help cover the cost incurred as a result of day-to-day activities such as utility bills, maintenance costs, renovation, and staff costs. If these costs were not covered the state of the facilities would deteriorate and be less attractive. An additional benefit of entrance fees is that they allow these places to expand quicker and they can buy in more exhibits to attract more people. The facilities will also be able to hire famous international artefacts and artworks; thereby enabling them to provide variety so that they can attract greater patronage. Consequently, charging an admission fee seems very utilitarian to creating better museums and galleries. However, there are downsides associated with admission fees, one of which is that it may preclude some members of the community from entering the facilities. This is particularly the case if poor members of society are unable to afford to visit these places. It seems a great pity if children and economically disadvantaged people are unable to benefit from the cultural experiences these venues provide. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the benefits of an entry fee, in terms of funding maintenance and expansion prevail over the downsides such as limited access for the poor.