Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Smartphones play an significant tool nowadays with plenty of convenient features they bring to our lives. This results in a phenomenon that children spend several hours on their smartphone daily. In my opinion, it is relatively negative development for the children's growth. This essay will discuss about the benefits and disadvantages about the development. Getting familiar with smartphones earlier serves as a quick path to broaden the horizons brought by the smartphones. For example, my little brother who is at the age of 13 uses smart phones to meet friends from different countries through the social media application. Also, he downloaded applications such as Coursera on his phone to study any subjects he finds intriguing on the way to the school. The smartphone helps him to build the relationship with foreigners easily and provides him the plentiful opportunities to learn on the online platform whenever it is and wherever he is as long as he has the smartphone with him. On the other hand, the risk of overusing smartphones requires to be taken into consideration. If children spending too much time on smartphones, they might lose the connection with the real world. There is a news in recent years reported a whole-new term " brain rot " to illustrate the phenomenon that people scrolling their phone without intention. It could also be applied to children's use of smartphone because they get immersed with short clips and booming information with visual attention on the social media. With more time on the smartphones, they have less time or motivation to build new connection with the real world. In conclusion, using smartphones for educational purpose or building relationships brings opportunities to explore the world. However, if there is no intentional use of this convenient gadget, it will cause serious problem we have to face.