New technology has resulted in many jobs, which used to be performed by people, now being done by computers or robots. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, technology development has become an integral part of modern life, bringing both benefits and challenges. It is argued that many occupations are replaced with computers or robots instead of humans. I firmly believe that this trend has more demerits than its merits, which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, one major advantage of getting more work done by technological gadgets is that it enhances speed and accuracy, leading to improved productivity at the workplace. For instance, multinational company Amazon is now using artificial intelligence to resolve customer service issues, which is providing sophisticated results to consumers more quickly. As a result, many people experience an improvement in their overall quality of life. On the other hand, applying more technology at the workplace leaves an adverse impact on workers. Firstly, it gives rise to the levels of unemployment. When the majority of work is done by computers or robots, then companies need fewer manual workers to perform tasks, which ultimately leads to a reduction in their living standard, and several people experience stress and mental issues. For example, it is estimated that in the United States, 30% of work is done by artificial intelligence, which is now replacing office jobs as well. Apart from this, people are struggling to find suitable jobs based on their experience. Consequently, applying artificial intelligence in the workplace reduces the overall growth of society. In conclusion, although the application of technological advancements in the place of work has some merits, I personally believe it has more demerits as it diminishes the development of the living standard of the people.