Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages. Discuss both view points and give your own opinion.

Cycling has become increasingly an appealing option in terms of transportation. It is argued that cycling has clear drawbacks despite this form of transport being a good way of travelling in this modern world. This essay will analyse both points of view and draw my personal opinion. There are numerous reasons that make bicycles an ideal mode of transportation. Firstly, Bicycles are eco-friendly and help reduce pollution, making them a good option for those concerned about the environment. Secondly, They are cost-effective as less initial investment is required and they require lower maintenance costs compared to cars or motorcycles. Thirdly, bicycles promote healthy habits by providing a form of exercise during the commute. Finally, bikes can be faster in congested urban areas that are frequently jammed with traffic, allowing riders to bypass gridlocks and arrive to their desired destinations before car owners and motorcyclists. On the other hand, bicycles offer limited protection in accidents, making riders more vulnerable to injuries. Furthermore, they are not practical for long-distance travel or for transporting heavy loads. Moreover, weather conditions like rain, snow or extreme heat can make cycling uncomfortable and sometimes dangerous. Last but not least, the lack of infrastructure for cycling in some cities can make cycling more challenging and unsafe. To summarise, from my point of view, despite having some undeniable disadvantages, the benefits of bicycles are clearly greater than the drawbacks due to their eco-friendly nature, their cost-effectiveness, healthy habits adopted during cycling and the fast pace they provide in heavily congested areas.