Today many teenagers rely greatly on technology when learning. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, a lot of teenagers have a great tendency to use new devices to learn something. While, some believe it has certain benefits such as efficient learning and enhanced accessibility, I argue that its negative impacts, including increased distraction and reduced cognitive ability, outweigh its advantages. Indeed, one of the most substantial advantages of hi-tech in education is easy learning any topic with audio-visual presentations, video tutorials and graphics. Because videos and presentations can affect emotions through sound, action, and image, as a result, this helps to keep a vast of information in mind for a long time. For example, YouTube, Coursera, and Khan Academy have great resources which learners, especially teenagers are able to utilize them. Thus, if modern devices are used to acquire pieces of knowledge, it will be more productive and help to enhance comprehension. By contrast, the use of online platforms, social media, and websites, which are parts of state-of-the-art technology, might distract students during the period of study. This is due to the data that is not related to study often appears on screens and it takes adolescents’ attention. For instance, a lot of harmful content for students has been uploaded to social networks, which the young generation daily use them. Therefore, too much internet surfing can cause some distraction from the main purpose of using digital transformation for studying. In conclusion, although digital advancements offer valuable learning resources, their overuse has several negative consequences. Reduced cognitive performance, increased distractions, and health issues make this trend more harmful than beneficial. To address this issue, students should be encouraged to balance traditional learning methods with technology to maximize its advantages while minimizing its drawbacks.