Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Younger generations these days prefer communicating through social media platforms rather than engaging in a one -on- one communication with others. This essay will suggest that social anxiety is the main reason of this problem and how the role of parent is crucial to solve this particular problem. Social anxiety seems to become more prevalent among teenagers these days and unfortunately, some seems to not know that they have it. There are many causes of social anxiety but for me personally, I would think that social media is the cause. Kids these days tend to spend more time on social medias rather than engaging in the real world. For instance, kids who always spend too much time on their phone will lack of social skills, which diminishes their confidence to communicate to others in real life. A viable solution is to have parents play an important role to help their kids to spend more time meeting one another in person. There are many programs specialised to increase one's ability in socialising with one another. Parents should first try enrolling their kids to these programs. If this approach doesn't work, they should consider alternative solutions. One clear example is enrolling them in a leadership programme where they are needed to communicate and lead others. This would be really helpful especially in boosting their confidence, making it easier for them to communicate in real life. In conclusion, the major issue with teenagers not wanting to meet one another in person is having social anxiety which could affect one's mental health if it isn't treated soon. The solution to overcome this problem is by having parents register their kids to a leadership programme.