Modern lifestyles are completely different from the way people lived in the past. Some people think the changes have been postitive, while others believe they have been negative. Discuss both these points of view and give your opinion.

It is undeniable that nowadays life is completely different than in the past. However, many people think that the changes that we have had in our societies have been positive while others think the opposite. In this essay, I am going to discuss both points of view and give my personal opinion. It is a fact that many of the changes that societies have had over the years have been beneficial for people’s lives. For instance, sixty years ago most of the countries were under extreme poverty, but nowadays poverty rates have decreased in many of those states. As an example, Chilean statistics show that in 1990 50% of its population was under the standard income line, but by 2010 that percentage decreased to 10%. Furthermore, a lot of states have developed themselves which has had a positive impact on their citizens thanks to the improvement of health, education and labour conditions. In addition to this, progress in technology has improved people's lives in many ways that years ago were unthinkable like creating a vaccine in two years to stop a global pandemic. Nevertheless, it is also true that many of the changes have had a negative impact on society. Although a big majority of nations have benefited themselves thanks to globalization, many others have not. Countries in Africa or South America have been left behind in this new economic global system. Moreover, climate change is affecting people's lives in very concerning ways with cities where it is unbreathable because of pollution. Also, technology has allowed countries to create weapons that have the ability to destroy everything on its path. For example, there is a great fear that the conflict between Ukraine and Russia will end in a nuclear conflict. In conclusion, after discussing both points of view I have concluded that even though many of the changes that humans have made in the past decades have given us terrible consequences, the majority of them have had a positive impact on making people’s lives much better.