Using a cell phone while driving is dangerous because it causes the driver to become distracted. Therefore, cell phone use by drivers should be made illegal. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advancement and the growing need to multitask has led to a spike in the usage of cellphones. People cannot let go of it, even while driving. It is thus believed that in order to avoid risk of distraction, phones must be banned while driving. This statement can be completely agreed upon. Henceforth are the reasons for my stand. To begin with, using a cellphone while driving not only puts the driver's life in danger, but also poses a threat to other people such as pedestrians crossing the street and other cars on the road. This consequently causes loss to someone who is not even at fault. It was found in a study that 50% victims of car accidents were harmed/injured due to the use of cellphone by the driver. In addition to that, phone screens can be very bright, constantly looking at it may cause temporary vision impairments such as appearance of dark spot. As a result, focusing on the road especially during night time becomes difficult. Furthermore, talking to someone while driving might also affect the mental state of a person. For example if someone gets a bad news while driving, chances are they would be in an accident, which was proved by psychology in a research conducted few years ago. In conclusion, usage of cellphones while driving must be against the law. Stopping by and finishing the conversation is always an option when it comes to emergency calls. We can get back to missed calls but not life.