One result of advances in medical care is that life expectancy has increased around the world. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advancements in the field of science have made life easier for everyone. However, every coin has two sides. Treatments are now available for diseases like cancer and diabetes that were earlier thought to be incurable or life-threatening. These treatments now allow humans to live longer and better/healthier lives. As a result, the average life expectancy has increased across the globe. This is a major advantage of these developments. But on the other side, this has caused a significant increase in the global population. The demand and pressure on resources has increased. Due to economic disparity, the availability of resources and facilities is lop-sided where the rich have access to a large pool of resources and the underprivileged classes are deprived of them. Both these sects have populations comprising of young and old. Here another problem arises. If the economic status of the younger generation is not high, then their access to these resources becomes limited. The increase in life expectancy has impacted economies of countries around the world. With countries that have a high percentage of ageing population compared to the young generation, the workforce has decreased, which leads to fewer people being able to contribute to the development of the country. China is experiencing a population crisis where the population of younger generation is decreasing and the number of people in the older generation are more. As a result of this, China, which was once a global provider of services and goods in different countries, is now starting to lag. The overall GDP is coming down, but the demand for resources has increased.