Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many children spend excessive time on their smartphones, this is primarily due to parental influence and the increasing role of technology in daily life. While this trend has advantages and significant drawbacks will be discussed in the following essay. To begin with, One of the major reasons why children spend so much time on gadgets is because of parental influence as they are busy professionally and with household chores, thus they want their kids to be occupied. Over time children get addicted to screen time and lose their interest in the physical activity of playing outdoor games. For example, a company called Clearvision published a report claiming that increasing in no of eyesight has been growing in kids compared to last year due to excessive screen time. Consequently, screens emit blue light which damages the eye retina causing eyesight and mental issues. On the other hand, smartphones can be beneficial for children for educational purposes. Many young people take advantage of learning applications to acquire new skills For example, Platforms like YouTube provide free educational videos that help their kids to gain knowledge. However, smartphones can be a great learning tool if it is used responsibly. another example, people who come from ordinary backgrounds are successful from learning online applications. To conclude, Parents often introduce smartphones to children for convenience, leading to excessive screen time, While smartphones offer educational benefits, their negative impact on health and social well-being can not be ignored. Therefore, parents should encourage moderation and controlled usage to ensure a balanced lifestyle for their children.