Nowadays, people spend a great deal of time sitting, leading to health problems. Why does this happen? What are the best ways to encourage people to sit less?

In recent years, numerous people have been spending far more time sitting, which has increased health-related issues. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this trend and propose potential solutions. To begin with, a primary cause that has led numerous people to a sedentary lifestyle is associated with work. Work takes an immense time from people, forcing them to sit not only at their desks but also during long commutes, which keep people seated for hours without moving. For example, research published in the American Economic Journal showed that Americans spend around 9 hours a day on average sitting for work-related reasons. Moreover, advancements in technology are considered another substantial factor. People spend a great deal of time watching their screens without realising they are not getting a sufficient amount of physical activity. To combat this problem, governments, businesses, and individuals should act collectively. This means that the government should develop several public parks that encourage walking and cycling. For instance, in Saudi Arabia, all public parks must include a walking path alongside a different trail for cyclists, increasing the number of active people. Furthermore, numerous strategies, including standing desks, mandatory breaks, and walking meetings, should be adopted to prevent workers from a sedentary habits. Therefore, people's accountability is important to adopt available measures, which may help reduce their time sitting while maintaining their health. To conclude, although maintaining a healthy habit is a bit difficult due to modern factors, with the cooperation of states, corporations and individuals, this challenge can be resolved. Well-planned strategies created to encourage people to develop a healthier lifestyle can truly benefit residents.