Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to wor for a company or organistaion. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

There is an ongoing interest in the predominant type of employment today. Nowadays, many people prefer to be self-employed, rather than to work for other employees. The questions now are why this might be the case and what are the drawbacks associated with it. In this essay, I will discuss both concerns, supported with relevant examples. Firstly, one main reason people choose to be self-employed is to attain autonomy. By this, I mean that most individuals desire the utmost authority over their work schedules, salaries and decisions. When they have independence, they can ensure flexibility, enabling work -life balance. This workforce can plan when to work and how much time to invest in their families and loved ones. For example, a chef who chooses to open a restaurant will have complete access to vary his working hours. This is most unlikely for one that works for a popular Franchise in the country, such as McDonalds, KFC, and Domino's. Secondly, there is a possibility of a significant low income when one is an entrepreneur. It is mostly evident in people who lack self-discipline and clear vision. In the absence of these virtues, self-managed businesses are liable to crash. This means that some people need an external force like a company's policy, competition in the workplace or even overtime compensation to exert their full effort in increasing productivity and profit. A self-manager might become less efficient at work, leading to poor output and income. For instance, a clothes designer who spends almost 8 months annually on vacation with her family and spends less time working without an alternative source of income will most likely suffer financial strain. In conclusion, the substantial rise in the number of people working for themselves has been linked to the desire to be independent, but a major downside is probable financial instability.