n many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People living in rural areas tend to move out from their hometowns and decide to live in urban areas, which is happening worldwide, causing decrease of population of the areas. I personally think that this has both benefits and drawbacks in about equal measure. One of the benefits of this trend is that people from the countryside, especially younger people will be able to have more choices of their carrers carriers or lifestyles once they move to cities, which might be somewhat difficult for them to realize their dream jobs in rural areas. Another is that accepting more people into cities can lead the cities to economic growth because of an increasing number of workforce in the urban areas. Nowadays, in Japan, more and more visitors from other countries travel to Japan, especially to major cities such as Tokyo and Osaka, and a large number of industries including hotels and tourism desperately need more workers to deal with lack of employees. Under such condition, it is a key for major cities to welcome more residents from rural areas to maintain the economy. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks of this trend is that there will occur a problem which can be harmful for old people. If the majority of people decide to move out from their areas, there will be nobody who can take care of the elderly living in rural areas, which might also become a heavier burden for caregivers as the number of the old who need to be taken care of will rise. In conclusion, I would say that this development will be both beneficial for urban areas in terms of workforce and detrimental for the elderly to the same extent.