‘Using animals to test the safety of cosmetics or drugs used for medical reasons is never acceptable’

Before any new product is put on the market, whether it is a cosmetic product or potentially life-saving medicine, the manufactures have to ensure that it is safe for humans to use. Advocates of vivisection would argue that testing products on animals is the only reliable method of doing this. Although I can see convincing arguments behind testing drugs on animals for medical purposes, I am strongly opposed to the practice of using animals to test the safety of cosmetics. Animal testing has helped scientists to make great discoveries in the field of medicine, providing effective drugs against cancer, heart disease and other potentially fatal illness. As a result, many lives have been saved and prolonged. However, there are new ways of testing products, using cell cultures, which need not involve animals at all. Therefore I would prefer such testing to be kept to a minimum wherever possible. On the other hand, when it comes to the cosmetic industry it is difficult to see why it is necessary to test these types of products on animals. For example, several well-known brands such as The Body Shop and Lush have always used human ‘guinea pigs’ to test their products without any detrimental effects. So in my view, we no longer need to exploit animal for the sake of human vanity, and this kind of testing is now completely unacceptable. In conclusion, though testing on animals has undoubtedly brought advances in medical treatments, I believe it must be reserved for essential scientific work and to help end human suffering and never for enhancing our appearance.