Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

There is a growing concern related to internet usage, and the diffusion of harmful content through it. Because of this, it is believed that the only solution to this matter would be having the government censoring content shared on those platforms. In my personal opinion, I consider internet platforms to be really dangerous, especially since their access is free to anyone, even people with bad intentions. Therefore, stricter control should be imposed on that. Nowadays, there is just a slight percentage of people offline; almost everyone has a social media account, and use it daily. Even young children are allowed to have smartphones, and have access to internet. They are the main victims and villains, being poisoned by web toxicity. They are too naive to understand the impact their actions have, therefore, they feel as if they could comment however they like, without having to face any consequence. This issue is prominent and has developed into the known phenomenon called cyberbullying. For instance, since the beginning of this new technological era, the number of teen suicides has increased, especially because of nasty comments made toward them on socials. This matter is really fond to me, since I have a 10 years old sister, whom I constantly control, terrified of what she might encounter. I keep close track of whatever she does, what app she uses, and what content she sees and shares. Having these concerns, government control could lighten my burden. In conclusion, the internet is a dark space, that can corrupt minds and poison them; children are the main concern because of their young brains. Some sort of regulation is already in use, however is not nearly enough. Stricter laws have to be approved to resolve this problem; also, cyber policy should keep a closer track of all content shared on platforms.