Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a lot of people are overweight and get chronically sick. This epidemic is happening especially in the big city. This essay will discuss my point of view about the main effects of this epidemic and the reasons why it’s occured. Society in the metropolitan area tends to be busy on their daily life. They worked 8 to 5 to fulfill their needs and wants. Obviously, once returning home, they are weary and tired. That is why, individuals are more likely to order fast foods rather than to cook or prepare healthy foods because of its accessibility and fast service. For example, for the worker who works daily in front of computer, fast food is more enjoyable, because we don’t need to think about what kind of food we have to eat tonight. On the other hand, fast foods are proven as one of the main effects of being overweight because they contain a lot of sugars and unhealthy fats. Eating a lot of sugar will result in high blood sugar and result in obesity. Additionally, the cooking methods are not in accordance to standards worsen the problem causes by the food. For example, one portion of fast foods contains 1,200 - 1,500 calories, almost the daily limits for some people. In conclusion, the rising epidemic of obesity and chronic illness in the big city is largely driven by the convenience of fast food and the demanding urban lifestyle. While fast foods can be a solution for busy individuals, its content contributes to health problems. To combat this issue, raising the awareness of healthy eating habits and lifestyle is essential. In the end, making conscious food choices and prioritizing healthy food is important to help society get a better life.