Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, social media is a fast medium to connect with the global world. Some people believe that social media helps to keep in touch with others. However, I believe that this is a positive development. In this essay, I will justify both perspectives before presenting my opinion. To commence with, Firstly, the advantage of social media is that it helps to connect with the global world through various platforms like WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook, and Skype. For example, people who live abroad will connect with these platforms. Moreover, it helps to increase the knowledge of children with different availability of resources from the internet by improving their cognitive development and mental ability. Therefore, social media strengthens the overall development of children. Moving ahead, Secondly, the demerit of social media is that children get addicted because they play different types of games on the internet. Although children waste their time, parents do not care about them. For example, children waste time by not doing their homework on time, and browsing the internet the whole day. Furthermore, parents also get addicted while using mobile phones and scrolling reels on Facebook. As a result, children's marks are getting low in the exams and social life is also less in the community of fewer interactions with people. In conclusion, the merits of social media is it helps to connect the global world. However, the disadvantage is children get addicted to the social media platforms like various apps. Maintaining a balance between these helps to grow children's cognitive ability, reasoning and social skills in society.