Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today humanity uses social media to stay connected with others and don't miss any of the news. The essay will discuss both sides of the argument, as it is easier to connect with each other and find news sources but it can lead to health problems, and ultimately argue that the benefits of social media outweigh its drawbacks. To begin with, nowadays social networks provide a convenient platform for communicating with friends and loved ones, as well as keeping up with the most current global events. So in an era where information spreads very rapidly, social media has become the primary source of news and updates that influence daily life. For example, research conducted by BBC News has shown 89% of individuals who learned new information from the Internet in 2023 in Russia not from the newspapers as it were in the past. On the other hand, almost every person has an electric device and they have an opportunity to communicate and source data. Constant phone use can be a cause of stress and anxiety, especially due to social networks. That is to say, comparing oneself to others, the fear of missing out on important events, and excessive attachment to digital devices can lower self-esteem and lead to depression. For instance, in 2019, a terrible case occurred in Germany with the suicide of a girl named Nicole due to a psychological disorder. As relatives said, she couldn't accept her appearance because she saw photoshopped faces on Instagram. In conclusion, it is very convenient to adopt social networks. A person can also quickly find out about new events and keep in touch with the right people. But do not forget that this can cause a large number of diseases and death. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because it is really common and convenient to use.