In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many companies prioritize the novelty of their products when they advertise. The popularity of this way of communication has increased because people prefer to buy new products rather than the older ones. However, it is a negative development since the advertisements can mislead people's perceptions. Businesses emphasize that their goods are new because they believe that advertising this way can help them increase sales. Individuals usually think that new products are better since they are produced with the latest technology and they are innovative. These tactics can possibly help product owners attract potential clients more effectively. For example, many Apple's fans wait for an annual event presenting the newest smartphones or gadgets; therefore, Apple chooses to mainly invest in promoting new versions of its products. However, advertising the novelty of products is not always beneficial because it can lead customers to the wrong way. While potential users entirely focus on the novelty, they might lack the awareness of the quality of products and their affordabilities. Regardless of reasonable considerations, customers might buy products which are not suit for them and they might pay higher price, leading to unnecessary debt. For instance, young teenagers probably want to purchase the newest phones in the market without thinking about their incomes, resulting in financial problems. In conclusion, many businesses have been promoting that their products are new due to the higher possibility of attracting customers. In my opinion, this is a negative development because it can cause misunderstanding and eventually lead to personal financial issues among buyers.