Many parents use punishment to teach the difference between right and wrong to kids. Many people think that the punishment is necessary to help children learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree to punish a kid to teach him/ her something important? What kind of punishment do you think parents and teachers can use?

Corporal punshiment is commonly used by parents or guardians to correct the young person in their families, which is thought to be the only way to help children distinguish their choices. I believe that positive reinforcement and promoting understanding to reflect on their behaviour can be more constructive, then just punishing the young ones for unwanted behaviour. It is essential to instill reflective behaviour strategies among children for making poor choice. Take, for example, a kid stealing money from their parents wallet and telling lies. The parents might physically punish the child without have a reset conversation and explaining the reason behind the poor decision that he or she made by nicking the amount. Instead, it would be good to educate how it can affect ones image and become a bad habit, which may eliminating chances of possible conversation to seek help in crisis during long run. Reflecting on ones behaviour is a long term process but definitely rewarding. On the other hand, if parents include positive feedback or reinforce rules and regulations repeatedly along with role modelling to their young people, it would have greater impact on the child. However, if parents use corporal consequences it might affect the childs behaviour and leave them in childhood trauma. Shouting, scream or hitting the child will only create negative relationship with them. Talking through the problems and involving them in deciding the boundaries will help them to be accountable for their choice. In conclusion, although it is a long term plan and time consumping process, I believe the above mentioned procedure to discourage negative behaviour and educate positive behaviour is greatly out weighed by the helping the child to understand and self regulate rather than relying on detrimental consequences that may affect the young individual psychologically and leave them in trauma for life.