Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Competition, one of the direct methods to evaluate people's performance, frequently happened in our daily life such as at work and at school. While some people believe that competition is an essential demand, others argue that people should try to cooperate instead of competing against each other. In this essay, I will elaborate on both views with examples below. On the one hand, competition is an effective way to stimulate the individuals' potential. For example, if companies establish the promotion system which depends on performance, the employees might put their excessive efforts to work in order to acquire a better life career. In addition to this, the employees would also get a sense of achievement while reaching the goal which was impossible to succeed in the past. Thus, creating a competitive environment will lead to employees having better performance at work. On the other hand, it is undeniable that people can cultivate the capability of teamwork and communication skills by cooperation. For instance, if group presentation is a mandatory task to pass the final exam at school, pupils must learn the importance of teamwork. Not only can they exchange creative thoughts by brainstorming through discussions, but can also train the communication skills while expressing perspectives to others. Therefore, students truly can enhance both their expressive ability and interpersonal networks. In conclusion, while competition helps people to explore their potential capability, it is also crucial to learn how to cooperate with others in case of improving communication skills. Only if individuals strike a harmonious balance between competition and cooperation can they become a well-rounded individuals in the future.