Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork shouldn't take priority over academic success for school children. Instead, proponents argue that these skills are better taught by family members and friends. Me, I strongly disagree with this, as I believe that such life skills are more valuable when learnt in obligatory education than by other means. The first question when it comes to mind is whether or not parents and peers are as good mentors as teachers. To some, the answer might be positive, but for most, the response is a "no". In recent years, it is not uncommon to witness households where kids are left unsupervised. Furthermore, youngsters' screen time has been increasing dramatically, making it difficult for the new generation to acquire key real-lifelife skills. Therefore, critics - me included - state that said abilities are better taught in school. On the other hand, though, supporters debate that certain education centres don't meet the suitable requirements for teaching life skills. In other words, schools' workforce can lack the necessary staff members in order to educate students. Furthermore, hiring or qualifying for such standards can be costly, and not worthy of the investment for conservative schools or parents. As a result, advocates believe that if needed, learners can seek education on life skills from more intimate sources, such as friends and family. In conclusion, there exist plenty of arguments for and against the topic. However, I still opine that the cons of not providing students with life skills far outweigh the merits. What I mean by that is cookery, dressmaking, woodwork and more should be encouraged in school programs.