In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem?

A phenomenon of growing concern is child obesity. In my opinion, there are a lot of reasons that lead to this situation, which can be avoided through government control of food production, and, in addition, by parents monitoring what their children eat. Nowadays, there is a growing percentage of the younger population that suffers from obesity. What lead to this phenomenon are a lot of factors. Firstly, parents are not aware of how much sugar is contained in different foods, such as yogurt and fruit juice; therefore, by constantly being fed with sugary foods, children become addicted to the flavour, and crave it. Consequently, they keep eating copious amounts of sugar that makes them gain weight. Secondly, eating fast food is one of the main causes related to weight gain. Parents underestimate the problems that constantly eating out can cause to their children, especially since fast food restaurants serve food thick with saturated fats, which are plenty of calories. For example, Mc Donald is one of the most famous fast food restaurants, and their food is known for being cooked with a huge amount of oil that gets absorbed by the products. To solve this problem, both parents and the government have to act. Parents need to learn the importance of homemade meals, creating nutritional plans for their children while monitoring what they eat every day, and allowing sweets only a few times a month. Meanwhile, the government has to take action regarding food regulations, with stricter control on food labels, ensuring that they are not misleading, and that restaurants follow required standards. In conclusion, a lot of factors are to blame for the growing trend of child obesity, like sugar and fast food. To solve this matter, parents need to be more aware and the government is required to strictly monitor the whole sector.